AAUA Alludes Best State Varsity’s Feat to Commitments of Stakeholders

The Vice Chancellor of Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko, Ondo State, Nigeria, Prof. Igbekele Amos Ajibefun, has attributed the recent rating of the Institution as Best State-owned University in Nigeria, to the devotedness of all stakeholders, including the government, staff and students, alumni, parents and guardians.
Prof. Ajibefun gave the attribution in a release on Monday, saying the University “is proud to receive the news of the 2019 Webometrics Ranking of Universities globally on which the Adekunle Ajasin University is ranked the best state-owned university in Nigeria.”
Adekunle Ajasin University, which came atop all state-owned universities in Nigeria, clinched 9th position among Nigerian universities; 81 st in Africa and 3048 th globally out of over 28,000 institutions ranked in the Webometrics Ranking released on July 31 st , 2019.
The VC affirmed, “This would be the third time in recent years that Ajasin Varsity has been adjudged best of all state-owned varsities in Nigeria. The University had, in April 2014, rated the Best by the United States Transparency International Standards (USTIS), and in 2005 by the National Universities Commission (NUC) which affirmed the pre-eminence of AAUA in terms of quality of academic staff.
“We are delighted that despite the palpable challenges, including paucity of funds, being faced by the University, it has achieved this remarkable feat. This a testament to the commitment of every arm of the University and the resolve of the University Management to place the institution on the global pedestal.
“We thank all stakeholders of the University, without whom this heartwarming feat wouldn’t have been possible. We acknowledge the Ondo State Governor and Visitor to the University; the University Governing Council; the University Management; staff and students; alumni, parents and guardians; host communities; friends of the University and the media.”
In the latest ranking, the top 10 universities in Nigeria are, University of Ibadan; University of Nigeria, Nsukka; Covenant University, Ota; Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife; University of Lagos; Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria; University of Ilorin; Federal University of Technology, Akure; Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko; and University of Port-Harcourt; respectively.
The ranking is published by the Cybermetrics Lab, a research group of the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) located in Madrid.
The aim of the Ranking is to improve the presence of the academic and research institutions on the Web and to promote the open access publication of scientific results. The ranking started in 2004 and is updated every January and July.