Department of Earth

Home >Department >Earth

HOD's Welcome Message


The Department of Geology was established in 1982 at the Ondo State University, Ado-Ekiti. The department was relocated to Akungba-Akoko in December 1999, following the creation of Ekiti State from the old Ondo State. The Department continued with very few students and staff in the new location. Within a period of eight years of relocation, the Department had remarkable achievements in areas of staffing, office accommodation and items of both office/Laboratory and teaching equipment. It was on this note that the Department, with the approval of the University Senate, floated an additional degree programme in Applied Geophysics. Thus, the Department ran two degree programmes in Geology and Applied Geophysics. Following the NUC directive that Applied Geophysics should not be subsumed in Geology, and that the two programmes should be separated, the idea of a common single name for the department was conceived at the departmental staff meeting of December, 2012. After following due process, the Senate of AAUA, at its meeting of 27th November 2013, approved a new name for the Department. Thus, the name of the department changed to “Department of Earth Sciences”.

The Department of Earth Sciences is committed to providing the best education in geosciences and, indeed, it is poised to meet world standards. The Geology and Applied Geophysics programmes have been verified by the National University Commission (NUC) as meeting the minimum standard for geosciences education in Nigeria. Also, the two programmes have been visited and certified by the Council for the Regulation of Mining and Geosciences in Nigeria (COMEG) which is the professional regulatory body for geosciences education in Nigeria.
Students graduating from Adekunle Ajasin University are expected to earn a minimum of 120 credit units (c.u.) for a four-year degree programme and 150 c.u. for a five-year degree programme. For students admitted into 200 Level either by direct entry or through transfer from other universities, such students must earn a minimum of 90 c.u. for the four-year and 120 c.u. for the five-year degree programmes respectively. Also, students are expected to earn a minimum of 30 c.u. per session (or 15 c.u. per semester) of registration and a maximum of 28 c.u. per semester.



Contact Info

Office of the Head of Department

[email protected]

Mon – Fri 9:00A.M. – 4:00P.M.

Social Info

Student Resources